Top graphic on Fireworks page
Return to the homepage
News of the firework world
Contents of current issue of Fireworks - and buy it
Contents of back issues - and buy them
Buy fireworks
These companies will stage your display for you
List of firework displays and firework related events
Shop for fireworks and firework related items
History of fireworks and firework traditions
Swap your firework memorabilia
Links to other firework sites


Read here before ordering/subscribing

Image for Subscribe UK button

Subscribe from Europe

Subscribe outside Europe

Subscribe and read your electronic copies

Fireworks is published
in February and July.
Annual subscription
(two issues), by cheque,
is £10 (£14 Europe; £18 outside Europe)
Online - postage
charge applies.

Click to view our refund policy

Contact Fireworks by email

Fireworks, PO Box 40
Bexhill TN40 1GX


Subscribe by post using cheque


Click to subscribe outside UK - BANKER'S DRAFT ONLY

British Firework Championships in 2021

British Firework Championships back with a bang in 2021

The British Firework Championships, held annually in Plymouth, Britain’s Ocean City, will return on Wednesday 18 and Thursday 19 August 2021.

The spectacular pyrotechnics competition, hosted by Plymouth City Council and The Event Services Association (TESA) sees six firework companies battle it out over two nights, all competing to be crowned the nation’s best.

The 2020 competition was cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic, but this year’s competitors have been invited back to take up the challenge in 2021.

Deputy Council Leader Pete Smith said: “The British Firework Championships really are the jewel in the crown of our brilliant annual events programme and we’re delighted to be able to announce the dates for 2021 – remember to pop it in your diaries as it’s always an unmissable event.

“We’re hoping to bounce back next year with a packed summer event programme, with not only the fireworks to look forward to but also the Mayflower International Festival and the grand prix of sailing, SailGP”.

The British Firework Championships has been held in Plymouth every year since 1997. The displays are fired from Mount Batten Pier in Plymouth Sound, which provides a natural amphitheatre for the sparkling show.

The fireworks are watched by up to an estimated 100,000 people from viewpoints all around the natural harbour, but the best viewpoint is Plymouth Hoe where thousands of people gather to gaze in awe at the ten-minute displays.

“We are looking forward to returning to Plymouth in 2021,” says Jim Winship, Director of TESA. “After a fallow year for fireworks across the UK, we are keen to get back on track with a spectacular show to celebrate the return of the Championships.”

The fireworks will start from around 9.30pm, with three ten-minute displays each evening. There’s entertainment, including a fun fair, and food and drink stalls to enjoy on Plymouth Hoe before the spectacle begins.

The British Firework Championships will take place on Wednesday 18th & Thursday 19th August next year.
All six teams, who were originally drawn for this year, have confirmed their intention to take part.

Those teams (in alphabetical order) are:
AJ Pyrotechnics
Aurora Fireworks
Fully Fused Fireworks
Phoenix Fireworks
Skyburst The Firework Co.
The Fireworkers

The original draw for firing order will stand.

For the latest updates about the British Firework Championships, please see